02 January 2023

Croatia: the new member of the Eurozone and the Schengen area

At a troubled time, marked by the fight against inflation and after 11 years without accessions, the Eurozone welcomed Croatia as a new member on the first day of 2023.

The 1st of January 2023 marked the beginning of the process of transition from Croatia's former currency, the Kuna, to the Euro, so by the end of 2023, all goods and services will have to be marked in euros and kuna.
At the same time, Croatian citizens became free to travel without restrictions and controls in the Schengen Area.
This was a historic milestone for Croatia, which became the first country to join the Eurozone and the Schengen area on the same day, foreshadowing major changes for the region.